BJD wins Patkura Assembly poll

By-poll: BJD declares candidates for Balasore, Tirtol seats

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Monday declared its party candidates for the forthcoming by-elections to Balasore Sadar and Tirtol Assembly seats in Odisha.

Bijay Sankar Das, son of deceased BJD MLA Bishnu Das, will contest from Tirtol, while Swarup Kumar Das is chosen as the candidate for Balasore Sadar.

Swarup Das is a former councillor of Balasore. His brother was chairman of Balasore Municipality, said sources.

Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had declared its candidates for the two seats.

Manas Dutt, son of deceased BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutt will contest from Balasore constituency while Rajkishore Behera has been fielded to contest from Tirtol assembly seat.

The bye-elections to Tirtol and Balasore Assembly seats are scheduled on November 3, 2020.