Private hospitals in Odisha to remain shut protesting Clinical Establishment Act

Odisha govt to establish 20 hospitals under PPP mode

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has decided to establish 20 hospitals in the state through public-private partnership (PPP) mode.

It is expected that these hospitals would attract an investment of over Rs 1000 crore and generate employment opportunities for over 10,000 people in the para-medical sector.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday announced to set up the hospitals in the state.

These hospitals will come up in places like Puri, Jeypore, Barbil, Angul, Baripada, Bhadrak, Balangir, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Phulbani, Dhenkanal, Boudh, Nuapada, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Sonepur, Rayagada, Paralakhemundi, Rairangpur and Kendrapada.

These hospitals will be established under hub and spoke model under the affordable healthcare project of the state government.

Over 2700 beds will be made available in the 20 hospitals, said an official.

While these hospitals will be accorded National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare (NABH) Accreditation, 50% of their beds will be in the general ward.