Odisha Congress clears candidate list for 2019 elections

Bhubaneswar: The Pradesh Congress Election Committee on Wednesday cleared the candidate list for the coming Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Odisha.

It has sent the candidate list to the AICC screening committee for scrutiny and declaration of final list.

Pradesh Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik said that the Pradesh Election Committee cleared the candidate list for all 147 Assembly and 21 Lok Sabha seats of the state.

The final list will be published after scrutiny and approval by the Central Election Committee, he added.

AICC Odisha in-charge Jitendra Singh, PCC president Niranjan Patnaik, senior party leaders of the state and PEC members were present at the meeting at Congress Bhawan here.

Sources said the Pradesh Election Committee has recommended the names of two to three candidates for each Assembly and Lok Sabha constituency.