Odisha Mahila Congress president Sumitra Jena quits party

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Mahila Congress president Sumitra Jena resigned from the primary membership of the party on Tuesday.

She expressed discontent over being denied a party ticket to contest in the Assembly elections.

 “I was a ticket aspirant for Bhadrak, but the ticket went to someone who does not even have primary membership in the party,” said Jena.

Congress fielded Nalinikant Mohanty from Bhadrak assembly seat against BJD’s Sanjeev Mallick and BJP’s Pradeep Naik.

Meanwhile, the Congress party on Tuesday replaced its candidates for two Assembly constituencies in the state.

The party replaced Satyabrata Patra with Dilip Nayak as its candidate for Nimapara Assembly seat under Jagatsingpur Parliamentary Constituency and Sitakant Mohapatra with Ajay Samal for Barchana Assembly seat under Jajpur Parliamentary Constituency.