Four doctors suspended in cyclone-hit Puri

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Saturday suspended four doctors for dereliction in duty in cyclone Fani hit Puri district.

The four doctors are Dr Jakesh Samantray and Dr Jahana Parveen of Chilika-Nuapada CHC and Dr Bapuji Nayak and Dr Jasmin Nilima Panda of Rebana Nuagaon CHC in Brahmagiri.

Health department officials said that the four suspended surgeons were found absent during the visit of senior officers of the department to cyclone affected Puri district.

The state government also transferred three medical officers of Odisha Medical and Health Services (OMHS) Cadre to various cyclone-affected places.

As per a notification, Puri CDMO Ramchadra Rout Rout has been transferred to Directorate of Health Services while Angul CDMO Amarendra Nath Mohanty has been posted as the new CDMO of Puri.

Similarly, Basanta Mishra has been appointed as the new Health Officer (in charge) of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation.