Niranjan Patnaik resigns as Odisha PCC president

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Niranjan Patnaik on Friday resigned taking moral responsibility for disastrous performance of the party in Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.

The Congress managed to get nine Assembly seat and Koraput Lok Sabha seat. Patnaik himself faced defeat from the two Assembly constituencies-Bhandaripokhari and Ghasipura.

In 2014 elections, Congress had won 16 Assembly seats.