Rajnikant Singh elected Deputy Speaker of Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Four-time legislator from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Rajanikant Singh was on Thursday elected as the Deputy Speaker of Odisha Assembly.

Singh was elected unopposed as no other candidate has been nominated by the opposition parties.

Leader of the House and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved the proposal of Rajnikant’s nomination for the post which was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh.

Speaker Surya Narayan Patro formally declared Rajnikant Singh elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker.