Odisha DGP RP Sharma named new Lokayukta member

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Director General of Police (DGP) Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma has been named as a member of the Lokayukta.

Governor Professor Ganeshi Lal has approved the name of Sharma for the membership of Lokayukta, said sources.

The Governor has formally nodded to the proposal of Lokayukta Selection Committee that had earlier recommended Sharma’s name, sources added.

The five-member constitutional body, headed by former Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court Ajit Singh, took charge in March this year. The other two members are- retired Justice BK Nayak and former IFS officer Debabrata Swain.

Meanwhile, the state government has already started the exercise of selecting new DGP. The government has sent a list of the probable senior IPS officers of Odisha cadre to the special panel of Supreme Court for its selection in pursuance of the apex court’s standing order for appointing a new DGP of any state.