Samir Mohanty elected as Odisha BJP president

Samir Mohanty elected as Odisha BJP president

Bhubaneswar: Senior leader Samir Mohanty was elected unopposed as the president of Odisha BJP on Thursday.

A formal announcement was made by party observer for organisational polls, Narendra Singh Tomar here.

Samir Mohanty, the state vice-president of the BJP since 2016, will replace Basant Panda as the state BJP president.

Mohanty’s name was unanimously accepted at a meeting attended by BJP’s district unit presidents, MLAs, MPs and council members.

Senior party leaders, including Dharmendra Pradhan and Arun Singh, were present on the occasion.

Samir Mohanty started his political career in ABVP before joining the BJP in 1995. He had unsuccessfully contested from Bhubaneswar Ekamra assembly constituency once.