Odisha government

Odisha govt constitutes State Commission for Backward Classes

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Wednesday constituted State Commission for Backward Classes under the chairmanship of Justice Raghunath Biswal, Former Judge Odisha High Court.

The other members of the Commission are — Prof. Dr. Navneeta Rath, Prof. Dr. Mitali Chinara and Dr. Prasanna Kumar Patra.

Veer Vikram Yadav has been nominated as Member Secretary of the Commission.

The State Government has constituted the Commission in accordance with the provisions contained in the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes Act 1993.

Justice Raghunath Biswal who is the Chairman of the new Commission was a former Judge of the Odisha High Court. Earlier, he had also served as President State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission from November 2012 to March 2017.

Prof. Dr. Navneeta Rath is a distinguished Social Scientist in the Department of Sociology, who has also conducted studies on backward classes.

Prof. Dr. Mitali Chinara is the Professor in the Department of Economics, well known in the field of Applied and Analytical Economics.

Dr. Prasanna Kumar Patra is a renowned Anthropologist in the Department of Anthropology, whose research areas include Socio-Cultural, Biological Anthropology, and Demography at Utkal University.