Naveen Patnaik national politics

Odisha govt stops pension of 6 officials; compulsory retirement for 2

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday directed to stop pension of six corrupt officials.

Besides, the Chief Minister gave compulsory retirement to two other officials on graft charges.   

Since August 2019, 74 corrupt officials have been dismissed while 15 others have been given compulsory retirement.

The six officials whose pensions have been stopped are Sudhir Kumar Brajendra Narayan, former Chief Engineer and MD of OBCC; Arun Charan Parida, OBCC Senior Project Manager; Pramod Behera, retired Assistant Engineer of Rural Development Kamakshyanagar Sub-Division; Brajasundar Pattnaik, retired Assistant Engineer of Rural Development, Puri; Khageswar Swain, retired Executive Engineer, Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC); and Bibekananda Mohanty, retired Superintending Engineer Roads, and Building Division, Sambalpur.  

The officials who are given compulsory retirement are Revenue Inspector (RI) Iswari Prasad Purohit of Koksara Tehsil in Kalahandi and RI Arun Kumar Purohit of Biramaharajpur Tehsil in Sonepur district.