Naveen Patnaik national politics

Naveen elected BJD president for 8th time

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was on Wednesday elected as Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president for the 8th consecutive time.

The party also elected 80 new state executive committee members.

BJD doesn’t fight elections to win or lose, it fights to remain in the hearts of 4.5 crore Odia people, said Patnaik after becoming the president of the ruling party.

Returning officer Pratap Dev announced the names.

Earlier, BJD had declared the names of 33 organizational district presidents.