Odisha Police appointment

Six new police stations in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday approved rationalisation of 905 posts in 220 police stations and creation of six new police stations in Odisha.

The approval was given for better crime control and efficient delivery of citizen-centric services, said the Chief Minister’s Office.

The existing police stations which will be bifurcated into six new police stations are- Khandagiri police station in Bhubaneswar, Angul Town police station in Angul, Jhasuguda Town police station in Jharsuguda, Bhanjanagar police station in Ganjam, Bhadrak (Rural) police station in Bhadrak and Tihidi police station in Bhadrak.

“The rationalisation will help strengthen 220 police stations and six outposts in 21 police districts of the state,” said the CMO in a statement.

Earlier, the CM had directed the DG of Police (DGP) to make more personnel available in police stations by way of rationalisation.

“Significant decline in Maoist menace due to strong security response and development activities has enabled the state to rationalise its manpower in police,” it added.

DGP Abhay said this will help us in controlling crime and improving service delivery to residents of Odisha.