Illegal apartments in Bhubaneswar

Odisha Real Estate Appellate Tribunal to start proceedings from Sep

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Real Estate Appellate Tribunal (OREAT) will commence its judicial proceeding from September 2.

The Tribunal has issued a public notice announcing their decision to commence judicial proceedings from 2nd of September 2020.

In view of the risk in organising hearing in person due to Covid-19 pandemic, the Tribunal shall hear the cases through video conferencing and arrangements have also been made for making the order available to interested parties through e-Mail.

With functioning of OREAT, Government of Odisha has joined the club of a few selected States, which have established regular Real Estate Appellate Tribunals.

This is expected to bring in a huge transformation in the real estate sector and is likely to ensure absolute transparency in the transaction by effective handling of appeals.

The state government has established Real Estate Regulatory Authority (ORERA) in accordance with the provisions of the Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act, 2016.

ORERA has been made operational three years back.

Now it is an established institution and the number of application received for registration of projects and for resolution of disputes in ORERA is increasing rapidly.

Under the given circumstances, the grievances against the orders and directions of ORERA have also registered an increase.

Justice Subash Chandra Parija, Retired Judge, High Court of Orissa was appointed as the Chairperson of the Tribunal and Ishan Kumar Dash and Malaya Chatterjee have been appointed by Government to act as Members of the Tribunal.

In the meanwhile, space for the permanent office of OREAT has been allotted at Toshali Bhawan, Bhubaneswar and another fully furnished space has been allotted by the Government at Fortune Towers for the temporary office of OREAT.

An officer of the rank District Judge Akhila Kumar Pashimakabat has also been appointed by the Government to act as Registrar of the Tribunal.

Also, logistics and 38 posts have been sanctioned by the Government. Many of the employees have already joined the Tribunal.