Odisha flood

Odisha govt deploys senior officers to oversee flood management

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has deputed six senior IAS officers to oversee flood management in the affected districts of the state.

Panchyati Raj secretary DK Singh has been given the charge of Cuttack district, while Industries secretary Hemant Sharma has been given the charge of Kendrapada district.

Tourism secretary Vishal Dev has been assigned Balasore district and Revenue secretary Bisnhupada Sethi has been assigned Bhadrak district.

Food Supply and Consumer Welfare secretary V.V Yadav and MSME secretary Satyabrata Sahu will remain in charge of Jajpur and Jagatsinghpur districts respectively.

Meanwhile, the state government has asked all district collectors to conduct a complete damage assessment of houses due to floods at the earliest as per the State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF) guidelines.

The district collectors have been asked to take up crop damage assessment in the flood zones at the earliest and submit a report for consideration of assistance, informed Special Relief Commissioner Pradeep Jena.