Notification issued for by-polls to Tirtol, Balasore seats

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission (EC) on Friday issued notification for by-elections to Odisha’s Tirtol and Balasore Assembly constituencies.

The by-polls are scheduled to be held on November 3 with adherence to Covid-19 guidelines.

The process for filing of nomination papers began on Friday and it will continue till October 16.

The nomination papers will be scrutinized on October 17. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is October 19.

The polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm on November 3.

The by-elections to the two Assembly constituencies were necessitated after demise of former Balasore MLA Madan Mohan Dutta and former Tirtol MLA Bishnu Charan Das.

The three major political parties BJD, BJP and Congress are yet to declare their candidates for the two seats.