BJD wins Patkura Assembly poll

Tirtol by-poll: BJD’s Bijaya Shankar Das heading towards victory

Jagatsinghpur: Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Bijaya Shankar Das is heading towards a massive victory in the by-poll to the Tirtol assembly constituency in Odisha’s Jagatsinghpur district.  

Das was leading by 32025 votes by the end of counting of 21st rounds.

Das has bagged 70059 while his nearest rival BJP’s Rajkishore Behera secured 38034 votes.

Congress candidate Himanshu Bhusan Mallick remained at a distant third position with 18770 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the demise of BJD leader and former Tirtol legislator Bishnu Charan Das.

Bijaya Shankar Das is the son of Bishnu Charan Das.