Shriram Chandra Bhanja Deo University

North Orissa University now Shriram Chandra Bhanja Deo University

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has renamed the North Orissa University in Baripada after Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo, the erstwhile ruler of the princely state of Mayurbhanj.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced that the state government will initiate requisite steps for the development of the university’s library.

The Higher Education Department has issued a notification to change the name of North Orissa University as Shriram Chandra Bhanja Deo University.

 The move came following a proposal given by the Mayurbhanj MP Mamata Mahanta at the State Council Meeting of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Monday.