Suresh Mohapatra assumes charge as Odisha chief secretary

Bhubaneswar: Senior bureaucrat Suresh Chandra Mohapatra on Friday assumed charge as the new chief secretary and chief development commissioner of Odisha.

Mohapatra replaced Asit Kumar Tripathy, who retired from service on Thursday.

Tripathy was appointed as the chairman of the Western Odisha Development Council. He will also be the principal advisor to the chief minister on regional development, tourism, agribusiness and industry.

Additional Chief Secretary Pradeep Kumar Jena also took charge as the development commissioner.