Engineering, medical quota: Odisha govt forms high power committee

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has formed a high power committee for making necessary recommendations regarding reservation of seats for students of government high schools in engineering and medical courses of the state.

The high power committee will be headed by Justice A.K. Mishra, retired Judge of Orissa High Court.

Other members of the committee are Ashok Das, former Vice-Chancellor of Utkal University, C.B.K. Mohanty, DMET, B.S. Poonia, chairman CHSE, G. Reghu, director, Technical Education and Training, and A.K. Nayak, joint secretary to SD&TE Department ( member convenor).

The state cabinet had on December 28 took a decision for reservation of government high school students in engineering and medical courses.

The cabinet approved the formation of a high-powered committee under the chairmanship of a retired Orissa High Court judge to formulate within three months the modalities for implementing the reservation.