Utkal University celebrates Platinum Jubilee

Vice president to attend Utkal University’s 50th Convocation Ceremony

Bhubaneswar: Vice president Venkaiah Naidu is scheduled to attend the convocation ceremony of Utkal University to be held on April 3.

Utkal University will organise its 50th Convocation Ceremony in the magnificent New Convocation Hall.

Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal and Higher Education Minister Arun Kumar Sahoo will also attend the ceremony.

This year a total of 41 PhD degrees, 90 Gold medals/endowment prizes will be awarded. 

On this occasion, five Doctor Honoris Causa will be conferred to five eminent Odias who have excelled in different fields in the country.

They are- Shaktikanta Das, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, Girish Chandra Murmu, 14th Comptroller and Auditor General of India, Justice Sanju Panda, the first acting women Chief Justice of Orissa High Court, Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty, nuclear physicist and Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and Dr. Bijaya Kumar Sahoo, Founder, SAI International Education Group and Advisor, Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan.

Due to Covid situation, the university could not hold its convocation ceremony last year. A pre-convocation award giving ceremony will be held on 1st April to award DLitt/PhD to 130 scholars and 90 Gold medalists of the 2018-19 academic session.

Dr. Sudhakar Panda, Director, NISER, Bhubaneswar will grace the ceremony as the chief guest on that day.

Both the functions will be held at the New Convocation Hall of the University. All arrangements have been made, keeping in mind the Standard Operating Procedure (SOP)  guidelines for Covid 19.

A maximum of 500 participants will be allowed in the Convocation Hall. All faculty/staff and students who will be in close proximity of the dias will undergo RT-PCR tests and rest of the staff and students will undergo Rapid antigen tests.

The list of all the Gold medalists and PhD scholars to be awarded on both the occasions is available in the university website. Awardees are advised to register their names before attending the function.