Modi inaugurates Jharsuguda airport

Mandatory quarantine for AP, Telangana returnees

Bhubaneswar: In view of the detection of a virulent variant of the COVID-19 virus, the Odisha government on Tuesday ordered a 14-day mandatory institutional quarantine for those returning from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

“Anyone coming to Odisha from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana by personal/hired vehicles/trains or entering the state in any other mode shall undergo mandatory institutional quarantine for 14 days in cluster TMCs to be managed by BDO/EO of urban areas,” said an order issued by the Special Relief Commissioner.

Collectors of Ganjam, Gajapati, Rayagada, Koraput, Malkangiri, and Nabarangpur have been directed to put Border Check Posts (BCPs) on all inter-state roads along Andhra Pradesh and Telangana border with immediate effect.

People travelling from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to other states through Odisha shall be allowed without disembarking from the vehicle en-route inside Odisha, the order said.

Besides, all passengers coming from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana alighting at Bhubaneswar Airport/Jharsuguda Airport/any railway station in Odisha shall be mandatorily subjected to institutional quarantine/paid quarantine for 14 days at facilities identified/ordered by District Magistrate/Municipal Commissioner or any officer duly authorised on his/her behalf.

“Any person(s) who has been successfully vaccinated (two doses) and produces certificate to the effect or tested negative in RT-PCR test (report to be produced) within 48 hours before entering Odisha, may be allowed home quarantine for 7 days. If there is no suitable facility for home quarantine, he/she may opt for institutional/paid quarantine in identified facilities for 7 days,” it said.

Persons coming on emergency works related to Covid-19 management by Government and private hospitals as well as those coming in connection any work permitted by the Government of Odisha shall be exempted from this order.