Commandos of Odisha Police to receive Shaurya Chakra

Two Commandos of Odisha Police to be honoured with Shaurya Chakra

Bhubaneswar: On the eve of the 75th Independence Day celebration, the Government of India on Saturday announced to confer Shaurya Chakra for 2021 upon 15 security personnel including two martyrs from Odisha Police.

Announcing the names of recipients for Gallantry Award for Independence Day, 2021, the central government stated Sudhir Kumar Tudu, Commando, Odisha Police and Debasis Sethy, Commando, Odisha Police will be honoured with Shaurya Chakra posthumously.

The two Commandos of Odisha Police laid their lives while performing duties.

In a tweet, Odisha DGP Abhay remembered the valour of the two martyred Commandos.

 “Very proud moment for @odisha_police. Govt of India has selected for #ShauryaChakra Martyr Debashish Sethy & Martyr Sudhir Ku Tudu. We celebrate their exceptional bravery, valour & courage. Their sacrifice inspires us all. Talked to their family to convey our gratitude & support,” tweeted the DGP.