Sunil Bansal appointed as new Odisha DGP

Bhubaneswar: 1987 batch IPS Sunil Kumar Bansal has been appointed as new DGP of Odisha.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today appointed Bansal as the new Director General of Police (DGP) of the state.

He is now serving as special DG, Intelligence Bureau.

Bansal will take charge as the Odisha DGP from January 1. He will replace incumbent DGP Abhay.

Earlier, the UPSC had recommended the names of Pradeep Kapur, Sunil Kumar Bansal and Manoj Chhabra for the top post of Odisha Police. Kapur and Bansal have been on central deputation for several years.