Odisha flood: CM Naveen announces relief for affected people

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday undertook an aerial survey of the areas affected due to floods and announced relief measures for the next 15 days.

The Chief Minister conducted an aerial survey of flood-affected areas in Kujang and Naugaon in Jagatsinghpur district, Gop, Nimapara, Astarang, Delanga, Pipili and Kanas block in Puri dist and Kendrapara district.

The CM also announced house damage assistance as per the State Disaster Relief Fund norms.

He also directed the Collectors to take steps to assess house damage within 15 days and disburse the assistance in the next seven days.
Naveen also announced relief for flood-hit Sambalpur, Bargarh, Sonepur, Boudh and Angul districts for the next seven days.

Noteworthy, over 4.67 lakh people in 10 districts have been affected so far by the flood situation due to the heavy rainfall in the State.

Due to the heavy rainfall and subsequent flood, over 2.5 lakh people in 425 villages have remained marooned, whilst a total of over 4.67 lakh people in 10 districts have been affected.” He further stated that by Wednesday evening, over 60,000 people were evacuated to safe places.