FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s WC Trophy returns to Odisha

After a successful nationwide tour, the prestigious trophy for the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela made its way back to Odisha on Sunday. The magnificent trophy tour kicked off on December 5th with Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik presenting the trophy to Hockey India President Padma Shree Dr. Dilip Tirkey in Bhubaneswar. The trophy travelled across 13 states and one Union territory, including the national capital, New Delhi, over the last three weeks.

The trophy traversed through West Bengal, Manipur, Assam, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, New Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, and Chhattisgarh, before returning to Bhubaneswar on December 25th. The trophy was received by the Hon’ble Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs, Odisha, Tusharkanti Behera, Hockey India President Padma Shri Dr. Dilip Tirkey, and Mayor of Bhubaneswar Sulochana Das in the city.

Throughout the national tour, the fans gathered in large numbers to witness the unveiling of the trophy at each venue. And gracing the august occasions were Indian hockey legends and respective state ministers. In the capital, Hon’ble Union Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs, and Minister of Information and Broadcasting Shri Anurag Thakur graced the occasion and wished the Indian Men’s Hockey Team the very best for the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela.