Utsav Odisha at Utkal University

Two-day Utsav Odisha at Utkal University

Bhubaneswar: Utkal University in association with Institute of Media Studies (IMS), Bhubaneswar is organising a two-day – Utsav Odisha – a Festival on Culture and National Integration to commemorate Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav and India’s G20 Presidency from April 28 to 29 at MKCG Auditorium on the university campus.

The national festival aims at promoting the rich cultural heritage of Odisha and its role in national integration. It will also celebrate the lives of unsung heroes of Odisha in Indian freedom struggle. The festival will have five plenary sessions where historians, researchers, academicians and experts will share their thoughts and ideas on contemporary issues relating to Odisha.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunja Bihari Dhal will inaugurate the festival in presence of Vice-Chancellor, Utkal University, Prof. Sabita Acharya, Prof. Durga Shankar Pattanaik, Chairman, PG Council and Dr. Avaya Kumar Nayak, Registrar. Former Additional Chief Secretary, Govt. of Gujarat Dr. S.K. Nanda will present keynote address. Director of Students’ Welfare, Utkal University Prof. Mitali Chinara will moderate the inaugural ceremony.

Informing this, Programme Coordinator and Director of IMS Prof. Upendra Padhi said the inaugural ceremony will be followed by three plenary sessions where themes like ‘Unity in Diversity: Role of Odisha in National Integration’, ‘Revisiting History: Our Roots & Unsung Heroes of Odisha’ and ‘India’s G20 Presidency & the World: Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam (One Earth-One Family-One Future)’ will be discussed.

The second day will have two plenary sessions on ‘New India: Colonial Mindset & Beyond’ and ‘Bharat Youth Dialogue – Be the Change’.  While Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India Ms. Uma Nanduri will address the plenary session-IV, winners (1st & 2nd) of Odia & English debate competitions will share their ideas & thoughts as speakers at Youth Dialogue session.

The closing ceremony is likely to be graced by Principal Secretary, Higher Education Department, Bishnupada Sethi.