SOA signs MoU with ICMR-RCMC for academics and collaborative research

Bhubaneswar: Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan Deemed to be University (SOA) on Saturday signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the ICMR-Regional Medical Research Centre (ICMR-RMRC), Bhubaneswar, here for mutual cooperation in the field of academics and research.

As per provisions of the MoU, both ICMR-RMRC and SOA would undertake joint collaborative research by applying for taskforce studies and projects for state, national and international grants.

The Ph.D scholars from ICMR-RMRC could pursue research in medical science, public health, microbiology, pharmacy, nursing and biotechnology in SOA while the university would recognize scientists from the institution as research guides or co-guides for supervision of Ph.D work.

Besides, the Ph.D research scholars from both SOA and ICMR-RMRC could access each other’s facilities while the agreement would enable faculty exchange with SOA faculty members teaching Master of Public Health (MPH) program at the central institution.

The MoU, which will be in force for five years, was signed by SOA Vice-Chancellor Prof. Pradipta Kumar Nanda and ICMR-RMRC Director Dr. Sanghamitra Pati.

Speaking after signing the MoU, Dr. Pati said the MoU contained several aspects as regards health research and public health concerning Odisha. As SOA was a multi-disciplinary university and ICMR-RMRC handled diverse research activities, both could complement each other and become stronger.

She said SOA already was receiving grants from ICMR for research and clinical trial and the MoU would take it forward.

Prof. Nanda said the MoU would enable fruitful joint research projects involving SOA and ICMR-RMRC as also organization of joint conferences and seminars. “It will lead to strong bonding as both organizations could complement each other,” he said.

Prof. Sanghamitra Mishra, Dean of Institute of Medical Sciences and SUM Hospital, SOA’s faculty of medical sciences, Prof. Neeta Mohanty, Dean of Institute of Dental Sciences, SOA’s faculty of dental sciences, Prof. Manas Kumar Mallick, Director, Mr. Pramod Kumar Panda, Chief Administrative Officer of SOA, Dr. Subhendu Kumar Acharya and Dr. Mahesh Chandra Sahu, Scientists at ICMR-RMRC were present during the signing of the MoU.