Graduation ceremony for foreign students held at SOA

Bhubaneswar: Seventeen international students of Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA) Deemed to be University here, who have graduated in different disciplines, were awarded their degree certificates at a Graduation Ceremony held on Friday.

 The students, belonging to Syria, Ethiopia, Bhutan and Nepal, graduated in disciplines of Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Computer Science and Information Technology and Electrical Engineering completing the four year courses at the Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), SOA’s faculty of engineering and technology.

 Prof. Pradipta Kumar Nanda, Vice-Chancellor of SOA, who was the chief guest at the program, gave away the certificates.

 Prof. Manjula Das, Controller of Examination, Prof. Pradip Kumar Sahoo, Dean of the faculty of Engineering and Technology, Prof. Jyoti Ranjan Das, Dean (Students’ Welfare), Prof. Renu Sharma, Additional Dean (Student Affairs), ITER and Prof. Nachieketa K. Sharma, Director, University Outreach Program, were present.

 Addressing the graduating students, Prof. Nanda congratulated them for completing the four year journey saying they had a difficult time away from home when the Covid-19 pandemic brought life to a standstill. “You have passed out of a university which has been ranked 15th in the country by the National Institutional Ranking Framework and an engineering college ranked 27th nationally for the second consecutive year. I am confident the education imparted to you will be of much use when you return to your country,” he said.

 Two students from Syria, Belal Ayman Jawhara and Afraa Jumma, who delivered acceptance speeches, thanked the teachers and others for making it possible for them to complete the courses with their help and guidance. “When we came in 2019, we were confused and scared, but we were made to feel at home. India is now my second country and I have spent the best four years of my life at SOA,” Jawhara said.

 Prof. Das and Prof. Nachieketa K. Sharma also addressed the graduating students while Prof. Renu Sharma proposed the vote of thanks. Dr. Sthitapragyan compered the program.