Dharmendra Pradhan
Dharmendra Pradhan

Union Education Ministry sanctions Rs 11.68 crore for 14 Odisha schools

Bhubaneswar: The Union Education Ministry has sanctioned a financial grant of Rs 11.68 crore to facilitate the enhancement of infrastructure in 14 schools of Odisha in the current 2023-24 fiscal year.

Among these beneficiaries, the Handidhua Government Primary School located in Talcher, which happens to be the alma mater of Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, has been allocated Rs 1.10 crore. Similarly, the Brajanath Badajena High School situated in Dhenkanal town has been earmarked for a grant of Rs 1.50 crore.

This allocation of central funds to these educational institutions follows the recommendation of Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who personally visited his former school on June 24. During this visit, the Union Minister provided assurance to both the teaching staff and the alumni association members that the government at the Union level would extend support to these schools.

The Ministry has also designated Rs 54.10 lakh for the development of Ranapratap High School in Bargarh, Rs 1 crore for Bhubana Panchayatiraj School, Rs 70 lakh for Mahendragiri Municipality High School in Paralakhemundi, Rs 55 lakh for G Nuagaon Upper Primary School in the Belaguntha block, Rs 67 lakh for Alanahaat High School in the Nuagaon Block of Jagatsinghpur district, Rs 83.80 lakh for Government High School in Kesinga, Rs 55.95 lakh for Government Girls’ High School in Phulbani, and Rs 83.85 lakh for Government High School in Chandrasekharpur Phase-2, Bhubaneswar.

Further beneficiaries of the central funds include Kakiriguma High School in Khiriput, Malkangiri (Rs 57 lakh), Government High School in Upperbeda, Mayurbhanj (Rs 1.10 crore), Bhuasuni High School in Bangiriposhi (Rs 1.05 crore), and Gobinda Chandra Deba High School in Rayagada (Rs 56.85 lakh).

The provided funding will be used for the creation of essential facilities such as smart classrooms, restrooms, potable water sources, playgrounds, and kitchen spaces within these schools.