Surjya Narayan Patro elected Odisha Assembly speaker

Former Speaker Surya Narayan Patro passes away

Bhubaneswar: Digapahandi MLA and former Speaker Surya Narayan Patro passed away at a private hospital here on Saturday.

Patro, a seven-time MLA, was Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly and minister in Odisha government.

In June 2022, he resigned from the Speaker post.

He had served as Minister during Naveen Patnaik and Biju Patnaik governments in the state.