Odisha: President Murmu flags off 3 new trains

Bhubaneswar: Droupadi Murmu, President of India flagged off 3 new trains viz. Badampahar-Tatanagar MEMU Sertvice, Badampahar-Rourkela Express and Badampahar-Shalimar Express from Badampahar station in Odisha today.

She also laid the foundation stone for redevelopment of Badampahar Railway Station under Amrit Station Scheme. The President also inaugurated New Rairangpur Postal Division and released Commemorative Special Cover of Department of Posts.

Raghubar Das, Governor of Odisha, Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister for Education and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Union Minister of Railways, Communications, Electronics & Information Technology, Bishweswar Tudu, Union Minister of State for Jal Shakti and Tribal Affairs, Sudam Marndi, Minister of Revenue & Disaster Management and School & Mass Education, Govt. of Odisha were present on the inaugural ceremony.

MPs and MLAs of the area were present during the programme. Anil Kumar Mishra, General Manager of South Eastern Railway, Divisional Railway Manager, Chakradharpur, Principal Head of the Departments and Senior Officers of South Eastern Railway were also present on the function.

The enhanced rail connectivity will provide convenient and faster movement for the residents of Eastern Odisha. The first ever Express Train service will connect Badampahar (Odisha), Rourkela (Jharkhand) and Shalimar (West Bengal). Introduction of these three new trains will ensure better mobility to accelerate the growth and development of the area and will also have a positive impact on business and industry. Additional rail transport facilities will boost tourism in this region and improve access to education and health service.

The redevelopment of Badampahar Railway Station with upgraded amenities will prioritize passengers’ comfort and convenience. The new station building will be redeveloped at an estimated cost of Rs. 12.22 crores under Amrit Station Scheme. The redeveloped station will provide state of the art, world class travel experience to the passengers. This will also enhance Rail-transport infrastructure and boost tourism for the State of Odisha.

The newly introduced MEMU and Express Trains will run as per the following schedule:

08147/08148 Tatanagar- Badampahar– Tatanagar MEMU

08147 Tatanagar – Badampahar MEMU will leave Tatanagar at 09.55 hrs and will reach Badampahar at 12.15 hrs. In the return direction, 08148 Badampahar –Tatanagar MEMU will leave Badampahar at 12.45 hrs and will reach Tatanagar at 15.20 hrs. The train will run 06 days a week, except Sundays and will have stoppages at Haludpukur, Sidhirsai, Bahalda Road, Aunlajori, Rairangpur, Kuldiha and Chhanua stations enroute.

18051/18052 Badampahar-Rourkela – Badampahar Express

18051 Badampahar – Rourkela Weekly Express will leave Badampahar every Sunday at 06.30 hrs and will reach Rourkela at 11.45 hrs, the same day. In the return direction 18052 Rourkela – Badampahar Weekly Express will leave Rourkela every Sunday at 14.20 hrs and will reach Badampahar at 19.25 hrs, the same day. The train will have stoppages at Rairangpur, Aunlajori, Bahalda Road, Tatanagar, Sini, Rajkharswan, Chakradharpur, Goilkera and Manoharpur stations enroute.

18050/18049 Badampahar – Shalimar – Badampahar Express

18049 Shalimar -Badampahar Weekly Express will leave Shalimar every Saturday at 23.05 hrs and will reach Badampahar at 05.40 hrs, the next day. In the return direction, 18050 Badampahar – Shalimar Weekly Express will leave Badampahar every Sunday at 22.00 hrs and will reach Shalimar at 05.30 hrs, the next day. The train will have stoppages at Santragachi, Kharagpur, Jhargram, Ghatsila, Tatanagar, Bahalda Road, Aunlajori and Rairangpur stations enroute.