PM launches development projects worth over 19,600 cr in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today laid the foundation stone and dedicated to the nation multiple development projects worth over Rs. 19,600 crore for Odisha.

Addressing the function, PM also flagged off two passenger trains and one freight train through video conferencing. All these projects relate to Railways, Oil & Gas, Road, Transport & Highways and atomic energy.

Addressing the gathering, the PM congratulated the people of Odisha and listed the numerous developmental projects being undertaken in Odisha under various ministry of Govt. of India. He informed that the Railway Budget for Odisha has been increased by almost 12 times in last ten years. He also stated that the Rail-Highway-Port connectivity in the state has been much improved.

On this occasion, PM dedicated to the nation, the 162 Km Bansapani – Daitari – Tomka – Jakhapura Double Rail Line and Khurda Road-Barang 3rd rail line. This increased line capacity will facilitate efficient transportation of ore and minerals to the nearest ports & steel plants and other parts of the country, significantly contributing to regional economic growth.

Modi also inaugurated the CONCOR Container Depot in Kalinga Nagar with an aim to boost domestic and international trade. He also laid the foundation stones for the Electric Loco Periodical Overhauling Workshop at Narla, the Wagon Periodical Overhauling Workshop at Kantabanji and the Wagon Maintenance facilities at Baghuapal.

The new train between Puri and Anand Vihar (New Delhi) was also virtually flagged off by Hon’ble PM from Kendujhargarh Railway Station. Similarly, he also started the first passenger train service between Haridaspur and Paradeep by flagging off the Paradeep-Kendujhargarh Passenger Train. With the introduction of this passenger train service, the Kendrapara District also got the services of passenger train. These apart, a Container Train from Jajpur to Dadri, Uttar Pradesh was also flagged off by Prime Minister.

On this occasion, Raghubar Das, Governor, Odisha, Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister, Odisha, Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister of Education, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship and Bishweshar Tudu, Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs & Jal Shakti also graced the occasion at Chandikhol.

MPs/MLAs were also joined the function at Norla Road, Kantabanji, Paradeep, Kendujhar and at Baghuapal through video conferencing.