Mohan Majhi to be first BJP CM in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  Mohan Charan Majhi, 4-time MLA from Keonjhar assembly constituency, a tribal leader, will be the new Chief Minister of Odisha.

Mohan Charan Majhi will be first BJP Chief Minister in Odisha.

Senior BJP leaders KV Singhdeo and Pravati Parida will be deputy chief ministers.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Janata Maidan on June 12.   

BJP’s Central observers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav held a meeting with the BJP legislators and MPs at at the party office in Bhubaneswar.

Odisha’s three Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Ashwin Vaishnaw and Jual Oram also attended the meeting.

“Delighted to announce that Shri Mohan Charan Majhi has been elected unanimously as the leader of Odisha BJP Legislature Party. He is a young and dynamic party karyakarta who will take the state forward on road to progress and prosperity as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Many congratulations to him.

Also, it has been decided that two Deputy Chief Ministers will be designated to head the new State Government. Shri KV Singh Deo and Smt. Pravati Parida will serve the state as Deputy Chief Minister. Congratulations to them!” posted Rajnath Singh on X.

Mohan Majhi

Mohan Majhi was elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly from Keonjhar. He was elected to the assembly in 2024, 2019, and 2000 to 2009. He was opposition chief whip in last assembly.

K V Singh Deo

K V Singh Deo belongs to the erstwhile royal family of Patnagarh in Balangir district. Singh Deo has been elected for the sixth time from the Patnagarh seat. He had also served as a minister in the erstwhile BJD-BJP coalition government.

His wife Sangeeta Singh Deo is BJP MP from Bolangir Lok Sabha seat.

Pravati Parida

She has been elected to the assembly from Nimapara assembly constituency. Parida was BJP Mahila Morcha president of state BJP.