Mohan Majhi takes oath as first BJP CM in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Mohan Charan Majhi took oath as the Chief Minister of first BJP government in Odisha at Janata Maidan here today.

Governor Raghubar Das administered the oath of office and secrecy to Majhi.

Two deputy Chief Ministers Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida and 13 ministers including eight cabinet ministers also took oath of office and secrecy.

The oath-taking ceremony was graced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Road and Transports Minister Nitin Gadkari, Health Minister JP Nadda, Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Railway Minister Ashwin Vaishnaw.

Besides, several Chief Ministers of BJP ruled states attended the swearing-in ceremony. Former Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also attended the ceremony.

Surama Padhy to be the new Speaker of the Odisha Assembly