Odisha BJP MPs embrace linguistic diversity, take oath in Odia

New Delhi: On Tuesday, BJP MPs from Odisha, including Baijayant Panda, Aparajita Sarangi, and Sambit Patra, took their oaths as members of the 18th Lok Sabha in the Odia language. This year’s ceremony showcased India’s rich linguistic diversity, with newly-elected MPs swearing in a variety of languages, including English and those listed in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution.

The BJP achieved a significant victory in Odisha, securing 20 out of 21 seats in the Lok Sabha elections, campaigning on the ‘Odia Asmita’ (Odia Pride) platform. Most of the party’s MPs from the state took their oaths in Odia, concluding with the phrases “Jai Jagannath, Jai Bharat, Bande Utkala Janani.” These MPs were part of the 281 new members scheduled to take their oaths on Tuesday. On Monday, the inaugural session of the 18th Lok Sabha saw 262 newly elected MPs, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, taking their oaths.

 In addition to Odia, Balasore MP Pratap Sarangi took his oath in Sanskrit, and Mayurbhanj MP Naba Charan Majhi in the Santhali dialect. However, Berhampur MP Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy and Kalahandi MP Malvika Devi opted for English, while invoking Lord Jagannath and the presiding deities of their regions.

Expressing his commitment, Puri MP Sambit Patra posted on X: “I am committed to the development of Puri Lok Sabha constituency and to fulfilling the grand vision of building a ‘Developed India’ under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.”