Odisha cabinet

Odisha To Form Food Commission Soon

BHUBANESWAR: Odisha would soon have a food commission to monitor and evaluate the implementation of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) in the state as the state cabinet on Monday approved the rules for the formation of the commission.

The cabinet chaired by chief minister Naveen Patnaik approved the Odisha State Food Commission Rules, 2016 for the formation of the Commission, a mandatory provision under the NFSA.

It will also advise the state government on effective implementation of the Act.

The commission would comprise a chairperson, five other members and a member-secretary, chief secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi told media persons after the cabinet meeting.

It will also hear appeals against orders of district grievance redressal officers (DGROs) and will inquiry either suo motu or on receipt of complaint into violations of entitlements provided under the Act.

The period of the commission shall be three years and can be extended one year. Maximum age limit of the chairperson and members should not be more than 65 years, he added.

“Anyone can apply for the positions of Chairperson and members while member secretary will be a government officer equivalent to the rank of joint secretary,” said Padhi.

He said chairperson would be given the rank of chief secretary while members of the commission will be equivalent to the rank of principal secretary of government.

According to the rules, any individual, if finding any violation in the implementation of the NFSA, can first file a complaint before the districts grievance redressal officers (DGROs).

If the person is not satisfied with the verdict of the district level panel, it can move to the state food commission. The commission can also suo motu inquire into violations of the provision of the NFSA.

The project directors (PDs) of all district rural development agencies (DRDAs) have been appointed as DGROs.
The state government would soon issue notification seeking applications for eligible individuals for the formation of the commission.