Naveen Patnaik BJD President

BJD Declared Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Das, Bhaskar Rao As Rajya Sabha Candidates

BJD declares party candidates for Rajya Sabha polls
Left: Bishnu Das, Top-Right: Bhaskar Rao, Bottom-Right: Prasanna Acharya

BHUBANESWAR: Ending the speculation, BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday announced the names of senior party leaders Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Das and N Bhaskar Rao to contest for Rajya Sabha polls on BJD tickets.

They are all set to be nominated to the Rajya Sabha given the numbers of BJD in the state Assembly.

Election for the three Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant on July 1 will be held on June 11.

Former minister Bishnu Das emerged as a dark horse.