BJD Candidates File Nomination Papers for Rajya Sabha Polls

BJD Candidates File Nomination Papers for Rajya Sabha Polls

BHUBANESWAR: Senior BJD leaders Prasanna Acharya, Bishnu Das and N Bhaskar Rao filed their nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls on Monday.

They filed their nomination papers before the returning officer in Odisha assembly in the presence of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and several other leaders of the party.

Election to the upper house would be held for three Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant on July 1. Notably, the seats fell vacant as the tenure of Pyari Mohan Mohapatra, Bhupinder Singh and Baisnab Charan Parida ending on July 1.

While the last date for filing of nomination is May 31, the nomination papers would be scrutinised on June 1. The election will be held on June 11 and counting of votes will be held on the same day, said returning officer Amiya Sarangi.

He said the election would not be held if three candidates remain in the fray after withdrawal process is over.

The opposition Congress and BJP are unlikely to file any candidate for the Rajya Sabha seats paving the way for the three to be nominated without any contest. Given the number in the state Assembly, the three are all set to be nominated, even if the opposition fields any candidate.