Centre forms committee to celebrate Paika Bidroha

Bhubaneswar: The union government has formed a committee to celebrate 200 years completion of the Paika Bidroha, known to be the first freedom struggle of India.

As per the announcement of the Union Culture Department, the committee formed under the chairmanship of Home Minister Rajnath Singh will have Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik as members.

Besides, senior BJP leader Biswa Bhusan Harichandan and senior writer Hara Prasad Das will also be there in the panel as special invitees. The committee will also be responsible for celebration of other events.

The occasion will be celebrated not only in Odisha but across the country, said the Union Culture Ministry officials.