Thunderstorm alert sounded in six Odisha districts

Thunderstorm alert sounded in 10 Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) sounded thunderstorm alert for 10 districts of Odisha on Wednesday evening.

It also cautioned the people to take shelter in nearby buildings or other safe locations.

The alert was sounded for Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Rayagada, Koraput, Gajapati, Angul, Dhenkanal and Jajpur districts.

People of these districts have been asked to remain alert between 3.45 pm and 7.45 pm today.

An IMD release said that the thunderstorm with hail and gusty surface wind speed reaching 50 to 60 kmph is likely to occur in these districts between 3.45 pm and 7.45 pm.