Tata Steel-constructed Adarsha Vidyalaya inaugurated in Sundargarh district

Tata Steel-constructed Adarsha Vidyalaya inaugurated in Sundargarh district

Bhubaneswar: The Adarsha Vidyalaya (Model School) at Bijepada in Sundargarh was inaugurated by district collector Vineet Bhardwaj on Thursday.

The school is spread across 25000 sq. feet area, built by Tata Steel at a cost of nearly Rs 4.5 crore with modern amenities.

Present on the occasion were Dhruba Charan Behara, DEO, R R Satpathy, General Manager (Operations), Ferro Alloys and Minerals Division, Tata Steel, Rajesh Kumar, Head Mines, Gomardih Dolomite Quarry, Sanjeev Jha, EIC, JUSCO.

Commending Tata Steel for the initiative, Bharadwaj said: “I am hopeful that this school will transform the current education scenario in the District as well as help in the overall development of the children and society”.

Speaking on the occasion, Satpathy said, “Tata Steel is committed in its efforts to construct 30 Adarsh Vidyalaya in Odisha, with an aim for providing quality infrastructure for interior parts of the state and be part of the overall growth of the society. The Company has handed over 11 schools so far, including the present one, to the government authorities. Rest will be completed in time.”

The school is equipped with almost all modern facilities and infrastructure including a dedicated computer room, furnished library, advanced laboratories, staff room, principal’s chamber, prayer and assembly point and separate washrooms for girls and boys on each floor, etc.

In order to make quality infrastructure available to students in far-flung areas in the state, Tata Steel had signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Government of Odisha to construct 30 model schools at an estimated cost of Rs 136 crore across the state in 2016.

This initiative by the steel major is part of the Government of Odisha’s grand plan of setting up Adarsha Vidyalaya (Model Schools) in each block in the state.

Earlier, ten model schools at Danagadi, Kamakhyanagar, Nayagarh, Korei, Dasarathpur, Dharmashala, Jajpur, Hatadih, Bonaigarh and Jagannath Prasad Block, built by Tata Steel, were handed over to the state government.