Centre approves 2 medical colleges in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The union government has approved setting up two medical colleges in Odisha for the academic year 2018-19.

In a letter to Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Health Ministry JP Nadda informed that his ministry has approved two schemes of the Odisha government for the establishment of two new Government Medical Colleges in Balasore and Balangir districts with 100 seats each.

The two government medical colleges will be set up under the centrally sponsored scheme ‘Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing District/Referral Hospitals.’

The ministry also approved confirmation of conditional permission issued to Pandit Raghunath Murmu Medical College and Hospital in Baripada in the academic year 2017-18 and renewal permission for admission of the 2nd batch at the college for the academic year 2018-19.