Odisha Assembly

Odisha Legislative Council resolution passed in Assembly

Bhubaneswar: The resolution tabled for establishing Legislative Council was passed in Odisha Assembly on Thursday.

The members of Congress and BJP staged a walkout opposing the resolution.

All 104 BJD members and Independent MLAs present in the House voted in favour of the resolution to establish Odisha Legislative Council in the state.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was the first to vote in favour of the resolution, which was introduced by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh.

“Odisha has picked up growth momentum…to further accelerate growth wider consultations are necessary. In this context, the legislative council will be of great help,” said the Chief Minister after passing of the resolution.

The Parliamentary Affairs Minister said the proposed council will have 49 members.

While one-third (16) of the council will be elected by the states MLAs, another 1/3rd (16) will be elected by sitting members of local governments such as municipalities and Zilla Parishads, 1/12th (4) by an electorate of teachers and another 1/12th (4) by registered graduates.

The remaining nine members will be appointed by the Governor for distinguished services in various fields.

The resolution will be sent to the Centre for approval of the Parliament to set up the legislative council in Odisha.