BJD wins Patkura Assembly poll

Pratyusha Rajeshwari, Purna Chandra resign from BJD

Bhubaneswar: Kandhamal MP Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh and Daspalla MLA Purna Chandra Nayak resigned from the primary membership of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday.

Both the leaders sent their resignation letter to party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Pratyusha alleged that she was being harassed by the BJD’s Bhanjanagar MLA, Bikram Keshari Arukh.

“Utter injustice has been done to me in spite of my loyalty and dedication to the party and the people I represent,” said Pratyusha in her resignation letter.

“I could have been at least informed prior to the announcement of final list of candidates. I was asked to prepare for the upcoming elections. Furthermore, I am irked as to why Bikram Arukh would have any say in matter of my nomination from Kandhamal,” she added.

“Furthermore, after my husband Hemendra Chandra Singh’s demise, I have been harassed in Nayagarh by Arun Sahoo with legal cases multiple times in the last four years. Though I informed it to the party, no action has been taken in this regard,” she said.

Daspalla MLA Purna Chandra Nayak also expressed resentment over denial of party ticket.