Kharavela to contest from Kandhamal, Prakash from Cuttack

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday released list of candidates for two Lok Sabha and nine Assembly seats in Odisha.

While Kharavela Swain will contest from Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat, Prakash Mishra will fight from Cuttack.  

Swain, president of the Utkal Bharat, formally joined the BJP here on Monday.

Swain joined the party in presence of Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan and other senior leaders at the party office here.

Swain was elected to the Lok Sabha thrice as a BJP member. He was elected to 12th Lok Sabha in 1998, re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha in 1999 and for the third time to the lower house in 2004 from Balasore.

Prakash Mishra, former Odisha DGP, had joined the BJP on Sunday.