Counting of votes to be held at 63 centres in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Counting of votes for the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 146 Assembly segments in Odisha will be held at 63 different centres across the state on Thursday.

Polling was held in four different phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar said the counting of votes will start from 8 am on Thursday and will be conducted in around 2,500 tables.

He said each counting hall will have at least seven tables each for Assembly and Lok Sabha seats.

Three officials including a supervisor, a counting assistant and a micro observer will be engaged for each table to ensure free and fair counting of votes, he said.

“Arrangements including installation of CCTVs, air conditions, videography and deployment of security personnel have been made at the counting centres,” said Kumar.

DGP RP Sharma said elaborate security arrangements have been made for the smooth conduct of the counting process.