Rita, Sanat, Dillip file nominations for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The candidates of three major political parties-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Congress-filed their nomination papers for the Bijepur bypoll.

Election to Bijepur Assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district will be held on October 21.

BJP candidate Sanat Gadtia, BJD candidate Rita Sahu and Dillip Panda of Congress filed their nomination papers before the returning officer at sub-collector office in Padampur of the district.

The Bijepur by-poll was necessitated after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik vacated the seat.

Patnaik had won from both Bijepur and Hinjili Assembly Constituencies in 2019 elections while he retained Hinjili seat.