Bijepur by-poll: BJD’s Rita Sahu registers a massive victory

BJD’s Rita Sahu set to win Bijepur by-poll in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: BJD candidate Rita Sahu is set to win the by-poll to Bijepur Assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh as she has taken a massive lead over her nearest rival Sanat Gartia of the BJP.

After 13 rounds of counting, BJD’ Rita Sahu has taken a lead by 65, 572 votes.

In 2019 Assembly elections, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had won the Bijepur seat by a margin of 57,122 votes. Rita Sahu has now surpassed CM’s margin.

By the end of 13h round, Rita Sahu has secured 90,353 votes while Gartia has bagged 24,781 votes. Congress candidate has managed to get only 3787 votes.

 The by-election to the Bijepur Assembly seat was necessitated after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who had won from two seats in the Assembly polls held in April, resigned from Bijepur and retained his home-turf Hinjili in Ganjam district.