Jeypore, Rourkela, Utkela airstrips under UDAN scheme

Bhubaneswar: Three more airports in Odisha will be included under Centre’s Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS)-UDAN, said an official on Friday.

 The airstrips at Jeypore in Koraput, Rourkela in Sundergarh and Utkela in Kalahandi will be included under the UDAN scheme.

The decision was taken at a high level meeting between Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy and Union Civil Aviation Secretary Pradeep Singh Kharola.

The Union Civil Aviation Secretary also discussed with senior state government officials on several issues of air connectivity in Odisha.

UDAN is a regional airport development and regional connectivity scheme aimed at making air travel affordable and widespread for the common citizen for national economic development, job growth and air infrastructure of all regions and state in the country.